The Columbus (OH) Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a 501(C)7 organization committed to primarily serving the African-American community within Franklin County through the sorority’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust.


The chapter was established on May 20, 1934, by twenty-three dynamic members and was initially called the Alpha Beta Sigma Chapter.  These charter members, who continued the legacy of sisterhood, scholarship and service as set forth by the Founders of the sorority, were:

Lorraine Allen
Helen Banks
Grace Booker
Stella Brooks
Fairy Burrell
Ruth Carter
Edith Coleman
Elizabeth Conley

Blanche Evans
Chrlotte Evans
Katherine Faucett
Bessie Beecham Giles
Berdell Green
Sarah Jackson
Evelyn Harrison Letcher
Helen Shields Lightfoot

Cona McNabb
Ora Mae Pate
Irene Patterson
Virgie Pearson

Virginia Stevens Smith
Edith Tribitt
Viola Burks Taylor

On March 11, 1979, the status of Honorary Charter Member was given to Edith Cousins for being a devoted member of the chapter and the Columbus community.


The chapter’s various projects and programs are designed to address the needs of a wide-range of community residents.  The chapter provides scholarships to graduating seniors, mentors pre-teen and teenage girls through the Delta Academy and Delta GEMS programs, inspires and empowers young men through the EMBODI program, and participates in annual community walk-a-thons.  To understand more about the chapter’s programming activities, please visit the programming section of the website.